Eagles’s flight – A Crafted Prayer for our time 6.29.17.1

 I’ve been trying to craft a prayer for times we live in that I can use as a base to return to. This is my first attempt.  I would be interested to hear yours.

Clark


crafted prayer – for our time 6.29.17.1

love above
love beneath
love over all things
love at the center of all things

our sins have been swept away
my sins have been swept away

our eyes opened
to death among us
wickedness from the heavenly places
raising up
“me”, “my way”
wealth as my right, my goal
wielding power in the service of darkness

touch and draw Your people out of this darkness
into Your light
let love be awakened in many
to touch one other
to touch and be touched
with and by Your Love
to touch and be touched
with and by Your Love for themselves
to touch and be touched
with and by Love for one another

let us, your people
raise up our neighbors
befriend, invite, draw close, delight in
one another
as the darkness deepens
let our lights collectively grow stronger, brighter
and breathe life
Your life in through Your people

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

