Eagle’s Flight – No Year of Jubilee – 5/24/17

I had a dream last night that triggered some thoughts I thought I’d share.
Some dreams are interesting and trigger some exploring, while others seem mostly entertaining. This was a thought provoking dream.
My method of dream interpretation is to first write down in a bit of a sketch what I remember of the dream. I try and just make a brief written record of what happened. What I saw felt and sensed in that dream.
Then I go back through and see if any parts of that dream trigger some kind of deeper interpretation. Perhaps a color somehow means something, or some particulars remind me of something or someone.
And then I finally jot done some things that seem to be some next steps for me to take, and I create a title for the dream so I can capture the main point somehow.
I don’t worry too much about “getting it right” I’m just trying to live a bit more into the story that emerges.
This particular dream may also have connections to a book, I’ve just started to read, Noam Chomsky’s, “Requiem for the American Dream”.
C.-
No year of Jubilee
 
my dream
it seems
that one can tell
that someone is Jewish
by looking closely at their photos
and if they have a certain look
like the sky is raining
if you look closely
then they are Jewish
and they have been trying to hide this for years
but since it hadn’t really been an issue for a while, they were getting a bit lax
not sure how they hid this
but perhaps they just didn’t show / display
photos that had this effect
but it seems that people were starting to look for this again and some were getting caught with this effect in their photos
mostly Jewish doctors
My interpretations
Yah?
What are the meanings I can glean from this dream?
raining?  tears / a deep sadness that’s hard to hide
perhaps reading Noam Chomsky is setting me on this track?
wealth jealousy may well be returning
this was mostly about jewish doctors being “found out”
and is about the wealthy feeling they know more and better than “the rest of us”
especially the poor who “brought it on themselves”
just like the rich “made their station in life” due to their virtue of “being right” and “knowing better how things should be”
justifications
for treating the “rest of us”
varying degrees of “badly”
lest the rabble rise up and take over
if  they can come together and learn they are the majority
so we tell stories
in order to strengthen our sense of place in the world
and to “smooth over”
our iniquity in this enterprise
and the results surface now and then
when the stories we tell take us too far down the road of iniquity
and we become “too right”,
“self righteous” to the point where we are holding down and putting extra burdens on those folks who are trying to rise up and take over my “justly acquired” wealth and/or position.
this is why, once every generation or so
a reset year of Jubilee really ought to take place ((says the Lord))
to reset position and the economy
before it gets too far out of hand
like right now
in the world
and in the US
My next steps: so what to do?
Lord?
indeed, what to do?
wars and rumors of wars
physical  fighting
push back all kinds of resistance
those yelling at being held down
And it takes increasing pushing down
from those on top
and requires strong action
to suppress
the rising anger
and if one “makes things better” by not letting any one subservient group get too large who would then take over in at least having their group become the ones in charge
it is then possible to stay on top
and surf the coming disaster
without too much pain
from the rising war
and in fact war
is a great money maker
and a good way to aggregate power
because nearly “anything goes”
when trying to put down those enemies
who are trying to rise up and overthrow
“MY” rightful position
“THEY” are trying to ruin the stability that we “righteously” have maintained, sharing our knowledge and wisdom
providing places for the lower castes to live and have some form of  “decent life” even though they couldn’t possibly provide it for themselves.
“we know everything necessary”
“we have access to wisdom you couldn’t possibly understand”
so we are in another period of needing a year of jubilee,
a godlike intervention
to save us from our self-inflicted wounding
of one another
and this godlike intervention
will require an exercise of either deep love or deep power to calm things for a bit
and so it will either be a year of jubilee with a deep love reset
or a year of godlike power providing a strong arm reset with many casualties,
which has the side benefit of many of the rabble needing to re-find their way, which means that they are busy adjusting to a new regime, so they have less time, energy, ability to get at the top reasons why this keeps repeating,
and perhaps a few of them will rise up to become part of the (slightly revised) set of those in power.
The rebels of the 60’s become trust fund educated members of the ruling class
knowing how we all “ought to behave”
there is some love sprinkled through this power exercise
but power remains the topmost priority
and love gets second place
and acts as a lubricant
to keep the frictions from becoming too widespread
becoming unbearable
(
whew, and I just barely started reading Noam Chomsky … what will happen when I get through his new book?  ☺
)
So, for those of us who envision Love taking its place up above Power,  what does it mean for how we handle the “power refresh”  currently building steam?
Jesus did this by joining people who would listen, finding those “fish” who were willing to be caught in the love net he and his disciples used.
It wasn’t a direct power confrontation, but he gathered those who would come and they increasingly learned to love one another, love God and love themselves.
But their image of what Jesus was doing was incomplete.
They hoped that he was to become the next King and would replace the current kingdom leaders with his love based kingdom.  And they were crushed when instead he died. Their hopes for the new kingdom dashed.  They had wanted a “power replacement” and didn’t get it when he died.
but
when he rose from the dead and then ascended into heaven, he showed a different way that used power in the service of love, rather than the other way around.  And this Love power is power
to draw us together
to draw out the best in each other
to raise one another up,
not just raising ourselves up and holding others down
and he showed a new way of dealing with the issues that arise.
Letting Love walk us down through death with those things contrary to the Love and Life God has for us.  And Jesus demonstrated how to lay down those things that block Love, to die to them and then to come out the other side and live again, more deeply in Love with God, ourselves and one another.
I find this is a repeating process, a repeating workout
and that it’s delightful coming to a more and more full realization of being so Loved by God and letting that fill all the nooks, crannies, and corners of my being bit by bit, piece by piece.  And because I am loved, I love God back and others more and more deeply. This love is a two way connection. I love because God so deeply loves me. I love others and find that they begin to love me. And so it spreads.
This love way is different from  the power way. The love way goes through my own dying through to life and power serves love.
The power way insists that others need to do the dying and I do what I can to protect my life and love serves power.
At least that’s how I see it.
I vote for Power serving Love not
Love serving Power.
How about you?
About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

