eagle’s flight – The Road Ahead – 5 Uncharted Territory – 11/7/16

excerpt from –  The Road Ahead,  Chapter 5

5 Uncharted Territory   (Endings and Beginnings)

endings
become beginnings
revealing treasure
uncovered
nowhere else

I find that I learn a lot about myself and what I do, through these “endings and beginnings”. These transitions force me to consolidate what has been familiar but is now ending, and then to start to think differently as I come into a new situation, job, or life phase, which starts out with plenty of unknown elements. And since God is both new every morning[i] and the same yesterday, today and tomorrow[ii], I can expect many times when my familiar gives way to something completely new that feels like I’m starting over.

College ends – jobs begin    

I seem to learn the most from endings and beginnings.  At the end of college I had several roads I was interested in pursuing, a teaching career in physics and math at the High School level and a slight interest in computers which I’d gotten a taste of during college, but hadn’t spent much time in computer and software related classes. I had done some tutoring and actually taught a high school geometry class when the sub in the class I was assisting in turned out to not be very good at geometry. So I was directed by the teacher to teach the class the next time that sub came in, which I did a few days later, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like explaining things to people in ways that they can grab a hold of.

So as I was finishing up my collegiate senior year, my next step was coming down to a Peace Corps teaching post or getting my masters in Education so I could teach High School physics. I knew people who had done both that recommended each path. The Masters degree sounded like the most sure way to get a job, so I decided to do that. On the way back to my room after making the decision, I ran into one of my roommates who asked what I’d decided, so I told him. I can’t forget his reply: “Well, …. its what I would have done, but I was expecting more from you.”

— — —
[i] Lamentations 3:22-23 – new every morning
[ii] Hebrews 13:7-8 – Christ is the same forever

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings, faith hope and love, Gateways and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

