eagle’s flight – The Road Ahead – 2. Doors of Entry (Brand New) – 9/14/16

Here’s my annotated Table of Contents for my book – The Road Ahead, bit by bit..

2 Doors of Entry (Brand New) [the road ahead]

I pass through a door
and find my way
forward
into new things
and ways
I had not known

Frequently my prayers start out down familiar paths, only to find an unexpected door, a surprise ending, an answer I don’t particularly like, and I’ve come to see that this is a consistent aspect of the Holy Spirit’s conversations with me.

A House of the Lord prayer:

The House of the Lord: The Cross of Jesus

I come onto the porch of the House of the Lord
and on the far end
there is a cross
it is the cross of Jesus placed there for me

I come to the foot of the cross
and lay down my trash and treasure
the burdens that are too heavy
and the burdens I delight in
and rest

<selah>

I stand ready to go
and ask Jesus to give me what he would have me carry

As I turn to go, I notice that the front of the cross is cracked along a side
I inspect it further, and find that the front of the cross is somehow loose
I pull on it, and it opens like a door
the cross is hollow inside

I step inside and examine the inside of the cross of Jesus
<selah>

As I’m looking around I notice a hole in the ground at the back
I take a closer look,
it’s a tunnel down through the back of the cross
and I follow it down to see where it goes

This is a tunnel down through death

I turn back, to take this road another time.

<selah>

Thanksgiving

I give thanks for what I found

<selah>

<amen>

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love, the road ahead and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

