eagle’s flight – Gateway poems – Sudoku and God’s judgment – 8/51316

I love doing Sudoku puzzles. They help me clear my head and focus, not as well as a good hard row, but still, pretty good. I do them on my computer and I turn on the error checking so a square turns red if I get it wrong.  My goal is to learn how to do the hardest ones more quickly without getting any red squares.

It’s taught me a lot having a quick responding error checker become part of my morning ritual.

Sudoku and God’s judgment

a strange title
but so true

even in Sudoku
when one of the error catching squares
turns RED
my first reaction has been
“No! That shouldn’t be,
it couldn’t be wrong”

but slowly
I have gone from “NO WAY!”
to “What?  …. Oh, I see it”
to “Thanks”
not sure I’m quite always at “thanks” yet
but I’ getting there

and I’m realizing from the book “Enoch’s Blessing”
that God’s judgment goes both ways
to “sinner”  and “righteous”
but those are only the final judgments
and along the way there are many little judgments

the final judgment is the final completion of a correct Sudoku puzzle.
but along the way many decisions needed to be made to get to that final judgment.
And with God’s way through life,
His Love and sacrificial payment
taking care of my mistakes
past, present and future
provides me with an eraser

and if I could catch my mistakes early
rather than running down a long dead end
where I finally realize that I’ve missed the trail
and must turn around
find my way back
undoing the broken trail
I created by the last wrong turn
after the wrong turn just before it
the wrong turns compounded
both coming and returning
to my Way with Truth and Love

So I’ve learned to listen more
and react less
when I find I’ve taken a wrong turn
and finally someone or something got through

I spend less time fighting the correction
and just keep my eraser close by
increasing willing to use it

And as a bonus
I learn more by finding out I’m wrong
than I do from always being right.

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

