eagle’s flight – on The Road – Meeting Perry White – 4/2/16

Meeting Perry White

So, what’s your story?

How are you connected to God, to Love, Power, or whatever is most significant in your life? I’m looking for stories, statements, pictures, hints that motivate you. Things that you strive for and feel at least a small amount of loss or discouragement then it doesn’t work.

I’m thinking I’ll start a new poetry / story thread sharing with you bits of my story and I hope that from time to time that will encourage you to share bits of yours. I’ll not publish any of your stories. That’s your job when and if you are comfortable doing so.

Here’s one of my beginnings ….
Perry White
I had a dream: God was Perry White sitting in his office (from the old Superman TV shows) and called me in for a friendly chat. I wasn’t being called in to be punished, I was being called in as one of the good people working for him.  We started having a nice conversation when someone dropped dead outside God’s office door. God excused himself saying, “I need to go attend to this person who just died. I’ll be right back. You understand.”

My interpretation / how it made me feel: What I understood was, God was busy and didn’t have time for me right then. I was strong and someone else needed God more, so I could wait.

This was a very “older brother” way to think. As an older brother I felt that I always needed to make things work, to fill in where others needed help.

But God leaving like that made me feel very lonely.

This is where my view of God started, when I first became aware enough to wonder about it on my own.

So what to do with this awareness? I realized how silly it was to think God was like Perry White. But silly didn’t matter, that was how I saw God. So I had learned to ask God for help to me get a better, more realistic view of God. And what I got from this ask were 2 scriptures I was familiar with, but apparently hadn’t yet taken to heart.

Matthew 22:36-40 (NKJV)
36 “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?”
37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”

and

1 John 4:19 (NKJV)
19 We love Him because He first loved us

And this has become my cornerstone promise that am still walking deeper and deeper into.

So, what’s your story?

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

