eagle’s flight – what I should say and what I should speak – 9/21/15

what I should say and what I should speak

I was given this scripture this AM. I didn’t want to get up and deal with it, so I put it off. But it wouldn’t leave me alone, so after sleeping my customary length, I got up, found it from the clues I’d been given and began to chew on it with a poem, with a collection of words that came to mind, from an example I was given some years ago.
John 12:46-49 New King James Version (NKJV)
46 I have come as a light into the world, that whoever believes in Me should not abide in darkness. 47 And if anyone hears My words and does not believe,[a] I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world. 48 He who rejects Me, and does not receive My words, has that which judges him—the word that I have spoken will judge him in the last day. 49 For I have not spoken on My own authority; but the Father who sent Me gave Me a command, what I should say and what I should speak.

so
likewise
it is not my job to judge
it is my job to speak
it is my job to hear and do those things I hear

Taligent
I knocked the dust off my feet, reluctant to judge
yet I did it in secret (though I have told a few since)
and judgment came in its time
I didn’t cause their failure
those things were there before I came
and the words I spoke
didn’t change them
with my feet, I confirmed that they didn’t receive my words
and they were not saved from reaping what they had sown

will God judge them at the end
for not hearing, not receiving what was given them?
how many times will God give them the Word?

I expect over and over and over and over …
yet there is much noise in the world
and it increases
and hearing becomes harder
as the random words
pile up
ferociously

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

