eagle’s flight – what do you think? – 6/7/15

What does this poem provoke in you?

Here’s a puzzle.
What is the title of  “this book”?

and what do you think on these things?

“this book” made me think
corporate kingship
governing by what we can
forgetting what is good

quick fix answers
justify our heart desires
for power and control

if everyone just thought like I do
then I’d have peace
we’d all have peace
when my answers
become our answers

love is what I do
is what I create
I love what I do
all things fit together so well
my world makes sense
and the power to help others see my way
so enticing

I write rules of thought
rules of behavior
which bring wealth-joy
to my superiors
and I am rewarded
with a created comfort
manufactured friends
and a separation from those outside
who I can feel superior to
I am writing the rules
which they will live
and work
and play
by

what is love then?
where is relationship with those different from me?
do I live with those using my tooling?
do I know those outside my world-work view?
do I care to?
do I love my position and privilege more than those outside it?

So the bright aggressive shapers
remain
and economics becomes the warring front
and business trumps national interest
and the people outside increase
and are increasing left behind

so how to speak to such totalitarian power
set in place “for my own good”
and for the wealth and privilege of those inside
who can code quickly when drunk
who can make relationships
into life games
in the cloud

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

