eagle’s flight – The greatest commandment – 5/24/15

On my first trip to India to outsource my job, I arrived in this fascinating country trying to wrap my head around so many friendly people with so many religious ways. I spent my first two weeks of brainpower, trying to understand the Hindu gods in order that I could better talk about my faith with the people I was working with. After two weeks I was tired and realized that this religion had been around for thousands of years, and I was trying to understand it in two weeks, and set the nation straight on the truth. So, I gave up, or perhaps gave in and told my God, “I give up. I’m done working to convert India. Help me just love the people I’m with.”

And I come back around to this lesson periodically. Right now, I’m wrestling with employment that can keep me writing technical docs for a living and too busy to push forward a book I’ve started. And my weekly poems have stretched out to perhaps monthly.  Finding a new rhythm in life when circumstances change is taking me a while. But I’m still loved by God, and I do take some time to let that love fill me up in the midst of the changes.

And now, I’m finding this love dialog in new places.

The greatest commandment

You know?
God loves us

and we love
because we are first loved by God
and the greatest commandments fall directly
from this beginning

Love God with all your heart, mind, soul and strength

and then?
Love your Neighbor as you love Yourself

that’s it
we’re done

and all of the law and the prophets
fall from these two.

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

