eagle’s flight – three things – 4/7/15

Its easy in these days of national and international polarization, to see and magnify the darknesses in greed driven policies, in judgmental voicing of our own orthodoxies.  Life rafts abound in learning to shout loud with a group (any group) that promises that we are right, that we are on a winning side, that help us ignore the things that most frighten us.  I wonder, are love and joy, the first 2 gifts from God, strong enough to stand amidst such thunderous cheering sections?

Three things

What 3 things
happened today
that brought you joy?

keep a lookout
today
and tell someone
anyone
perhaps 3 some-ones
what brought you joy

I hear rain outside

I couldn’t tell for a moment
what that sound was this morning
when I woke up
early
and sat down
to write this question
but I hear rain

that brings me joy

And singing last night

with a large group
of volunteers
singing strange new (for me) scales
which went from collections of notes
to tunes
I began to appreciate
new dialects
I’m starting to hear

that brought me joy

a hug and a handshake from a daughter and a new friend
a short back rub given
to one I love
who needed a touch reminder
those brought me joy

I have
we have
a God who loves us
we have Love
who reminds us
(if we listen)
to love
ourselves and others
because we are loved

and sometimes
we remember
and that brings the joy back

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

