eagle’s flight – The Road Ahead – 2/19/15

I’m in a period of underemployment currently, working as a contract writer doing performance reviews of network switches. These 3rd party reviews are used by marketing departments to let people know how “my switch is better than your switch”.  And I’m learning (slowly) how to live without the daily schedule of a full time day job. I’m not retired, but I’m looking to discover what’s next. We’re not in immediate financial trouble, but something needs to change before “too long” (the duration of which changes depending on if you are talking with me or my wife J ).

I’m done with learning the next new open source programming language so I can test new systems. So my old familiar track is closed. And friends have disabused me of a few other easy or “safe” directions as being very not me. So I’m exploring writing, which may take a technical road as being more profitable, but for this moment I’m expanding on my poetry track.

The Road Ahead
[ audio ]

I’m writing a book
on my Spiritual Journey thus far

to let people (and myself) know
what it looks like
when I walk with God
who is Love
and the Holy Spirit
who I call Peilush
because it sounds like the wind
and “The Holy Spirit”
sounds so impersonal
for such a personal presence

I don’t expect other’s experiences
to exactly match mine
we all share relationships
with one another
yet no two are quite the same

I’ve found
through your comments
and personal interactions  in and through my poetry
that there are enough common threads
in our relational walking through life
that there is much value in sharing
our stories with one another.

I have looked back at events and people
that have impacted my life is some significant way
and how they each led me on to a new way of being

I’ve loved paradigm shifts for a long time
and these events have caused many
in my way of thinking and relating to
myself
my God
Love
other people
who are friends
who are enemies
and who I only read about in news articles

I have titled groups of these experiences as
·      Brand New
·      Reaching Higher
·      Deepening / Healing
·      Endings & Beginnings
·      Seeing with Other eyes
·      Abiding / Remaining / Coffee with God
·      Legacy / Where to from here?

and so my Table of Contents is born

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

