eagle’s flight – Sabbath walking – 2/4/15

At the urging of my cousin, I read Walter Brueggemann’s book:  “Sabbath as Resistance”.

[ Brueggemann, Walter (2014-01-31). “Sabbath as Resistance”,  Westminster John Knox Press. Kindle Edition. ]

And it struck a strong chord with me as I have been given to pray that generosity replace greed in and around me. The book looks at the 4th of the 10 Commandments in the Old Testament scriptures, and sees the Sabbath as demonstrating the restful nature of God and the provisioning for peaceable community. This is in contrast to the competitive, “more, more, more” and “never enough” environment  we live in today.

And I also noted that greed is considered an idol, a false god in the scriptures.

Sabbath walking
[audio]

walking under the power of riches
real and imagined
burns in us
a desire for
FIRST
BEST
FASTEST
RICHEST

this commodity god
eggs us on
to more, more, more
an over saturation in consumer desires
at the expense of those left behind to fend for themselves
fighting over the loser’s portion

Sabbath walking with a restful God
who forgives debts on a regular basis
is hard to imagine

but perhaps it appears
in small ways with family and friends
here and there

dare I believe
and even ask
that the god of greed
be crushed under my,
under our
heel?

and further,
that God’s gifting generosity
would expand to fill the void

first in me
and then
beyond?

what would such a prayer answer
look like?

I am beginning to see.

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

