eagle’s flight – Drawn in – 1/15/15

Drawn in

I’m in the process of reading through the book “Mansions of the Heart” by John Ashcroft. It’s a modern rendition of Teresa of Avila’s “Interior Castle” and St. John of the Cross’  “Dark Night of the Soul”.  A small group of 3 of us have been having dinner together on Thursdays and talking about it, seeing where it resonates, and how we respond to Ashcroft’s comments. It’s been quite enjoyable to engage in such conversations each week. Here’s my take on the seven mansions which are stages in the spiritual journey, sometimes re-visited, each one never completely explored.

Warning – I’m using a bit more Christian specific language than I usually do. Replace “Christ” with “Love” or “The Word” if it’s easier for you.   And on the “Holy 3” i.e. the “Trinity” … you’re on  your own.

Let me know what strikes you.

Drawn in
audio

Drawn in to Christ

into choice and battles

gifted by the Spirit
with pruning and joy

we find
we are loved
and want more

we are promised as His Bride
in oneness to be purified

we glimpse in darkness and glory
and begin to see as God sees wholly
what is to be and is not yet
we’re betrothed fully with no date set

Ah union,
integration with the Holy 3
that “they may be one in Us”,
“perfected in unity”

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

