eagle’s flight – The Things that fill Me up – 1/10/15

This was a good Christmas, filled with spending time with family and some friends. It seems that the joy of presents and the glittery wonder of the season has dimmed a bit, but catching up with kids and grandkids with extended time together is wonderful.  The holidays are a break from “ordinary time” when work and the daily activities and worries are put aside for a time. And then they are over and its time to get back to doing the things of regular life. And in picking things back up it can often be a time to rethink, if only briefly, what we do in the rest of the year.

The Things that fill Me up
[audio]

my head is full
of the things I should do
closing out Christmas
recording the busy frenzy of the season in the Christmas book
putting the last boxes of decorations put up in the attic

now to pick up
back in ordinary time
where I left off a month ago
with an aging todo list I try to make sense of
and attempt to revive old enthusiasms
for tasks coming out of storage

I reopen the worry closet and find
books 1/2 read
puzzles fun but getting old
thank you notes required
New years business greetings
too few contracts to provide for us
distractions
pulls
pushes
drives
desires
all Mounting up
and I’m full
my head is buzzing
and stillness eludes me

so I try and stop for a moment
and put down all I’m carrying
to recollect myself as loved
as I am
and let the noise recede
which often requires
a long vigorous walk
or a workout on the water
so a tired body can convince
an over-busy mind to be still
for a moment

and I remember
God’s gifts
feely given

and I remember
I am loved

and I remember
I am forgiven the busy
that fogs my hearing
and vision

and I breathe
and find rest

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

