eagle’s flight – gracious generosity – 1/1/15

I’m being prompted to muse, meditate and pray around replacing greed with generosity.  So, I’ve done a quick survey of the Christian scriptures on generosity and this is a first resultant poem. Interesting the blessings tied to generosity, some of which would appear foolish to current mindsets, but perhaps can be an antidote to the greed which leaves so many behind.
[https://www.biblegateway.com/quicksearch/?quicksearch=generous&qs_version=NKJV]

gracious generosity

Restore to me the joy of Your salvation,
And uphold me by Your generous Spirit.
Psalm 51:12

gracious generosity lends
and is not afraid
is steadfast
established
and not afraid

give to the poor
you will be enduringly righteousness
and exalted

scatter
broadcast
your abundance
and be made rich

water, and be well watered
sell your produce
and be blessed

indeed
carry on
and give your bread
to the poor

devise generous things
and thereby stand

satisfy the hungry
give drink to the thirsty
build up the poor and needy with  truth and justice

and by your generosity
stand
and pray always

and may God multiply the seed you have sown
and increase the fruits of your right spirit
with all liberality
and thanksgiving

<Selah>

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

