eagle’s flight – on coming clean – 11/25/14

Poetry is my calculus. It’s my way of laying out where I am, what I’m thinking, what my opportunities and roadblocks are so that I can look them over and hand them to God for help in moving past the roadblocks and being thankful for the growing places.  And sometimes, these explorations resonate beyond myself and I delight in hearing where they have touched others.

Thank you.

on coming clean

is it easier to see someone else more accurately than you see yourself?
to see without so many of your own voices
yet still from your own entrenched perspectives

I find
as I come clean
working past old issues that obscure my vision
walking through my refusal to admit
a problem
a prejudice
hatred
anger
wishful thinking

as each has been identified
named
and dealt with
in Love’s Spirit
I find a cleaner clearer vision grows
on my own growth
and that of others

and in my waiting, increasingly patient prayers
I find many answered
in ways I did not guess
and I’m glad
I didn’t speak
too soon

11/25/14

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in flights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to eagle’s flight – on coming clean – 11/25/14

  1. Darcey says:

    Clark, you truly have a way with words…thank you!!

  2. clarksapoet says:

    you’re welcome.
    May our Lord, the God of such grace.
    Bless you.

  3. clarksapoet says:

    Thanks, Vincent [ http://vincentegoroblog.wordpress.com/ ] for your visit.

  4. clarksapoet says:

    Thanks, http://1john417.wordpress.com/ for following. I’ve followed you back.

Leave a Reply

