eagle’s flight – I guess it’s just that noone’s listening – 9/13/14

Poems are often best read out loud. Try it with this one.

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening
as I speak
in poem
or song
and wonder why I’m not being heard

more

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening
after I connect with a friend over coffee
and they relate a story that makes me smile
over something I did or said
perhaps a year ago

and I forget

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening
when I feel down because I can’t
I can’t something …
when I can’t … anything
speak
create
race

and yet
I do
sometimes

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening
that I feel alone
pressed down by polarizing events in the world
which encourage people to only hear
things their own groups are saying
and everyone else
is somehow less
because they hold different values
different agendas
different trigger words

weighed down

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening
at times I just stop
tired
with nothing to say
that connects with anyone else
so I read
or do a puzzle
or explore patterns wrapping round my finger
with silver and purple buckyballs
withdrawn

I guess it’s just that noone’s listening

am I?

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to eagle’s flight – I guess it’s just that noone’s listening – 9/13/14

  1. Elan Mudrow says:

    Nice writing! I enjoyed it.
    check out:
    passiontorn.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

