eagle’s flight – on doing it wrong – 7/24/14

I’ve worked for years in software testing, finding problems in other people’s work, and then telling them about it in such a way that they will fix the issue. Along the way I’ve been told many different ways that I just don’t understand, that the problem doesn’t exist. And sometimes they are right. But other times the cliff I see ahead really does exist even if I can’t convince them of the problem. So I walk ahead and post a sign  or create a bridge or a stair down and then I wait for them to come running up to discover … a cliff with a sign showing the way down. They call to their fellows to follow them as they’ve found a way past this new obstacle.

on doing it wrong

[audio]

confident
I’m doing it right
I proceed
quickly
sometimes too quickly
ignoring hints
that the path I’m on
has somehow turned
slightly
away from my presumed destination

I have a growing sense
of wrong
of things not fitting as they should

I may let this sense wear in
past my defenses
to wake me to the need for change
which sometimes strikes quickly
knocking me down
and other times
I never let it in
and bend my reality around this
inconvenience

do we know the ways
we protect ourselves
from finding out
we are wrong

and when it becomes all too obvious
that we are wrong
what do we do
with this new knowledge
requesting some revision
to the ways we see the world

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

