eagle’s flight – breathe the way through – 6/28/14

My job situation has changed and I’m looking for a new way forward. I’m looking for a new job that is more in keeping with my current talents, desires and callings. And I’m rather done with trying to keep up with 20- or 30-somethings learning new computer languages constantly and eager to jump on the next new wonderful idea to be built out of the internet clouds. And I’m rather done with managers who ask for things because they can measure them, not because they are the right things to be doing. So I find my self at the end of one road, and I’m beginning to see bits and pieces of what a possible new road looks like. It seems like there are new things all around me, in front and behind. And I’m only beginning to make some kind of sense out of them. (and I suppose this comes from following a God who is “new every morning”, perhaps I’ll need to get used to it).

breathe the way through
[audio]

breathe

a new environment
unexpected events
unfamiliar turns
shaped around
things I’ve done
things I’ve thought about
for years

I’m trying to find a rhythm
that works
for me
for us
for the communities
I engage with
in this new place
I’ve known for years

and the effort
just listening
to the new
saps my will to keep going
in the other areas of my life
that were on auto-pilot
that I took for granted

so the new new
is turning the old
new as well

and I find re-evaluation
necessary
or at least requested
in all directions

so I’m not lost
but am being re-located
and from this perspective
I must rediscover
the ways through
my old familiars
become new
again

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith steps forward, the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

