eagle’s flight – new visibility – 6/5/14

A number of years ago I developed an increased desire to cut through  my old and wishful thinking and find out for myself what God was doing and wanted to do, with me.  I started reading the prophet Isaiah and it resonated with me, so I read it again, and again, and again.  Something about it struck numerous chords in my thinking about world events, my life in the church, with family, friends, and work colleagues.  At some point in these re-readings, particular words, phrases, verses started to jump out at me as being particularly aimed at me, and I would highlight just those words that so struck me.  As I continued in this very personal reading of Isaiah, I began to see that these words were God’s specific promises to me. Yes they were historical, and some were prophecies about a coming messiah, but they were also for me, here and now, and I took them to heart.

At that point, I knew I needed to capture them and what they meant to me  because I would forget over time the impact they were having. So, I copied these 12 promises into a word doc and began writing poems around each one to capture my personal reactions for later re-visiting.  I put them together into a self published book, “The Walk of the Eagle”, thinking that this was just the beginning of a journey and I wanted to capture what it felt like to begin this walk.

It’s been 12 years since I published “The Walk of the Eagle”,  and due to my most recent job changes I’ve had cause to go back through those promises to check in and see what God’s been doing with me, and which promises have been kept or not. I’m not done with this exercise, but those 12 promises have turned into 81 reflections on experiences and events that have moved each promise from a future hope to a present reality.

new visibility
(audio)

wandering forward
into new visibility
on new directions of favor
comes with an accompanying violence
to thoughts I had not realized
were so centrally important
to my deepest ways of thinking
about myself

and in the midst of these attacks on my world view
my understanding of my own value
is shocked
into a vulnerable openness
on issues I’ve avoided
perhaps for a long time

but I’ve been told
if I embrace this new vulnerability
rather than fight it
I can see through and past my old ways

and God’s promises
which have been before me
can be brought into my present
which will open me to see
the me God sees
and I will walk out
the next  steps into promise

my views of the world
myself
and my God
have shifted
deeper into trust and joy
at the presenting possibilities

and I don’t expect this shift
will be my last

see also …
Graham Cooke,  “Defining Your Personal Legacy” on CD,  at http://www.BriliantBookHouse.com

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

