eagle’s flight – rhythm – 5/19/14

Life’s seasons have an interesting way of uncovering long buried inconvenient truths. Moving from a season full of joy charged with life’s activity, to the fallow, dormant time after harvest can reveal long held assumptions that need some revising. My current season shift has left me feeling unexpectedly lost.  And yet even here in this new season I know that I am deeply loved and will be found, again.

rhythm
(audio)

losing my job this time
seeing this life track end
really upset my life rhythm
I lost my anchoring bass line
and now all the other parts are competing
to lead

Interesting
I thought God was my bass player
laying down the way
but found out
when I lost my expected work rudder
that my work
making money
supporting and growing my family
has been my anchoring beat
providing a basic direction
for my life

without it
my way holds no impulse
no power propels me forward
competing directions
with no one on top
leaves me spinning wheels
or plates
or tops
or anything I can find

yet leading nowhere

but I am deeply loved
and will be found
again

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to eagle’s flight – rhythm – 5/19/14

  1. Darcey Strand says:

    Fabulous! Can so relate to every word. I’m questioning my anchoring beat. I’m certain He has a plan for this next phase of life…can’t wait to see how clarksapoet adventures forward and shares life’s lessons with us!

  2. clarksapoet says:

    Oh, so glad you’re touched by this poem. Somehow it helped me tremendously to better understand my own lostness when the rhythm piece was given to me in a small group worshiping together in a presbyterian drum circle. May we all listen well and catch more of these words that build us up into the next steps in what God is doing in each of us.

Leave a Reply

