Eagle’s Flight – still working – 4/21/14

I seem to be getting older. And for me as a working adult, that means I’m not as quick at learning new computer languages as I was. I’m not as eager to jump in and do a quick competitive programming experience needed to join Facebook. I failed the Google interview test, because I didn’t know terms now taught in CS courses. So it becomes increasingly up to me to figure out how my experience can be used in the job marketplace. Fortunately, I have made friends through the years who respect things I’ve done and look out for me. Fortunately I continue to draw closer to God who has promised to provide and opens up new perspectives and opportunities for me to walk in.
Still Working

Starting up
over again
in a new job
with a new set of people
working remotely
through email
a few phone calls

learning workplace assumptions
by running into them
is not always smooth
but seems to be going forward

my new job
seems scaled to my current
abilities

experience helps
but I need to figure our how
to use it
those hiring
and directing
don’t know
what I can do for them
until I show them

our world changes

the scaling up
massively
of communication pathways
from a few technical connections
to standards arising
and the multiplying effects
of speed
and channels
is like going from country roads connecting
major towns
to freeways, subways, air travel
in a short generation

much that was expensive
and slow
and worked through guarded channels
is now fast
free
and the guards are scrambling
losing control

the governors removed
the barriers to communication erased
now what on earth
will we do with such interconnectedness?

what will we do
as we increasingly
know what each other think
the good and the bad

what will we do
as things formerly kept secret
are shouted from roof tops?

will we learn to live with each other
to love and forgive
our enemies
and
even
our friends?

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

