Eagle’s Flight – the way – a love walk – 4/10/14

12 years ago, I decided to write a book of poem reflections on my readings of Isaiah, an old Testament prophet. I had read through Isaiah about 12 times looking for particular parts that somehow stuck out as being “just for me”. I was well into my “show me” phase with God and since I didn’t tell anyone I was doing this, I had no need to feel stupid for doing so. And as I re-read the prophet, 12 scripture chunks struck me particularly hard. I felt like I was being grabbed by the neck and being told, “look at this one. it’s for you. it’s a promise for you.” I decided to believe that this was so. So in order to be able to come back later to see how all these had walked out, I wrote them down, and wrote poems about them so I could work through what I thought they were saying to me at the  time.

12 years have passed. And I’m going back through “The Walk of the Eagle” to see what God’s done with me in that time. To take a look at how those promises have worked out or are still working out.

a love walk

I asked
to see
with God’s eyes

to see how Love works
in all situations
good
and bad

to see if God really does anything
or if we need to keep making excuses
because nothing really comes of our asking
and God really needs to find another job

walking back
through old
collar grabbing
promises
I see
God’s loving me
in new light
how I’ve walked through fears and doubts
and find myself doing things
I delight in

I was told as the 12th promise

“I declared what you did not know”

and I find myself called repeatedly in to
–       hear things I didn’t know
–       speak truth with a depth that takes slow understanding
–       speak and gratefully receive the small faith conversations that spring up
–       listen with ears, eyes, taste, smell, and feeling and to trust my trained up intuition
–       to speak with poetry and music and to see connections grow among us
–       to raise up relationships one on one through a poetry list community
–       to weave a belaying prayer rope between people of like spirit
–       to wake again and again past wrong or broken belief systems of my own creation
–       to die to myself, and be reborn to be more of the me God sees
–       and indeed, to see more and more as God does, as Love sees in joys and sorrows

and I am encouraged
seeing and accepting
the path I’m on
as I remember and reflect
on this Love walk
together

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

