Eagle’s Flight – testing software – new job – 3/30/14

So, newly out of work, Janet and I mentioned it to a few folks that we ran into. One person heard and mentioned a person I should call. So I called Princeton NJ, and had a brief conversation and started working a week or so later. wow.

Years ago, while I was reading through Isaiah (12 times in a row as I recall), I had been struck by a number of verses that jumped off the page and grabbed me by the throat with the strong sense of “this is My promise for you!”. One such promise was “delight yourself in abundance”. And I’ve chosen to believe that the God who says he loves me, means it. Over the years as I’ve gone in an out of jobs it has added a branch of “I will provide”. Looking forward, it is sometimes hard to believe, but looking back I can see the trail of how it has worked before. And I am thankful. Again.

new job

whoa
a first week
on a new contract
something different
yet connected to my past

writing reviews of networking equipment
through independent testing
and auditing the company’s own test runs

I’ve been busy
listening
translating what I know
into the new languages
of switches
and standardized tests
and particular corporate ways of doing
the things I’ve been doing
for 37 years

and I like
working with people on their testing
understanding how their systems work
then telling others how well these work
by writing it up

so after a first week
(where I now know everything)
I’m looking forward to the work

and yet
it’s a job
working with people
and I bring myself along as well
so I expect new growth challenges
like I’ve met before
will be here as well

and already
I’m seeing Love’s pressure encouragement
to hide my own desires less
and to speak my mind more
courageously

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in testing software and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

