Eagle’s Flight – learning to fly 2006-2014

I wrote “Learning to Fly” in 2006.
I’m still learning to fly in new and different ways.
I still want to walk on water …. twice.

My latest flight attempt is putting this poem (learning to fly) with music out on CD Baby.
The song has 50+ fans on Jango now, which I find interesting.
So now my latest “jumping at the sky” attempt to fly is to put the song out on CD Baby, where it can be bought, and also collect royalties when someone plays it.
I’m new at this, so taking it slow, but when you’re only 61 I think its important to try new things and see where they go.

take a look at
learning to fly - cover

learning to fly

I desperately want
to walk on water
twice

beyond the one initial step of faith
that crumbles

first footing gained,
then lost
when the old ways reassert
making it clear
I will only  hurt myself
in thinking
wishful, crazy, impossibilities

but the vision glimpse teases
from just beyond sight
just beyond my reach
and I keep walking
on passed doubt
to somehow ask
to somehow get back in that place of asking
for my return
when I take the 2nd
3rd and 4th steps
impossibly supported
on the waves above the depths
that block so completely all thoughts
of a way forward.

oh, to move from impossible surprised astonish
to a new familiar
making place
for the next faith glimpse
leading doubting feet
timid students
to learn to walk
to run
to fly

12/11/04 (rev 9/21/05)

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

