Eagle’s Flight – the gathering – my walk into life – 1/5/14

At a church service of death and rebirth, I presented this poem with a prayer at the end, which I find useful from time to time. At times walking in the ways of Love, in the ways of God is about letting go of things I’ve collected along the way.

my walk into life

I find I learn the most
in my walk with God
when the time comes
to stop what I’m doing
and move on

these little dyings
bring to mind
in remembrance
the purposes that brought me there
in the first place
and how they’ve changed
what they’ve become
both good
and bad

and even the bad
at one point
I took on
for a reason
perhaps to cover over
an earlier fault
or to cope in the only way
available to me at the time
but now it may be time
to repent of that earlier good
gone bad
which I have held on to
past it’s needed time

and such protection
now only holds me back

so to let it go
I walk down the road to death
through the cross
past the pictures of those
who have gone before me
and I stay for a moment
in the rest of death
leave my rotting burden
and walk out
through the doors
broken by the sacrifice
of Jesus

to rejoin life
still in progress
and give thanks

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

