Eagle’s flight – the word – ask – 12/31/13

I’m on a journey through the Bible, reading last chapters to see how the stories come out. I started in Revelation and am heading to Genesis. At  a few each day, it should take a couple months.  I’m taking note of the verses or phrases that particularly strike me. These are my meditations and if you have your own meditation / prayer around these things, send them back at me, I love the small conversations that ensue.

Philippians 4
6: be anxious for nothing but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. 7: and the peace of God which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hears and minds through Christ Jesus.

8: Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things.

I hear
anxious for nothing
what comes to pass
will come
and it will be good
it may not be easy
but it will be good
so ask

but ask
desperately
learning to know
what you want
then ask

there are many things
important
and not
that God would like you to have
to grow into
and know how to use

you don’t yet know
much that is true
much that is noble
much that is just
much that is pure
much that is lovely
much that is good
find
and meditate
on them
pursue them
in Love
with the Father
Holy Spirit power
and the supporting intercession
of Jesus

you are not done yet
you are not yet
who you will be

so ask
and give thanks

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

