Eagle’s flight – the gathering – healing – 12/16/13

healing

I have been given the gift of healing. And I’ve even prayed for some people (and myself) to be healed, and on several occasions it has worked in a significant way. But I don’t do it very much. It’s not very well accepted in the circles I frequent, and I’ve not found a way to bring it in so that it gets more than ignored as a curious bump in the road.

do we even know we are sick?
cut down by a cold
just how long does it take
to rest
to stop
and let go
of the things that drive us
forward?

with more severe issues
how long does it take
to embrace
rather than deny
our broken condition?

in our thought processes
that are destructive to ourselves
that are destructive to others
how long does it take to let go of them
and love
or forgive
ourselves
other people
even God?

one part of learning to let myself
be loved by God
has been to find out
that as I’m loved
and accepted
things I’ve tried to suppress
rise to the surface
which can be
painful
embarrassing
disappointing
but also
healing

as I learn I am accepted
even with my favorite mistakes
issues
hatreds
sins
even these
are covered
in God’s forgiveness
and washed away
by blood
and living water

and indeed
in these ways
I am loved into
growing up

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eagle’s flight – the gathering – healing – 12/16/13

  1. Darcey says:

    Amazed once more…
    My good friend Muffie has the gift of healing prayer…she’s a warrior and lives to worship and serve.
    Thanks for these words.

Leave a Reply

