Eagle’s Flight – the gathering – do unto others – 12/1/13

I’ve learned, slowly sometimes, to write down what I pray for. I’ve found that many times things happen to me, or my thoughts turn in strange, different directions during the week. And I don’t understand why I seem to have come to be in such an awkward place. And then I re-read or recall my recent prayers, and see the connection between what I’ve asked and what I’m currently walking through. And if I attend to what I’m going through, with grace, I begin to understand the prayer answer that is now asking me for a next step.

when you ask
to see
what you would like others to be doing towards you
be carefully aware
of what you ask for
and what you do
with the answers

and then
do those things
towards the others around you
your family
friends
and others you come in contact with
throughout your day

you may experience
what you’d like others to be doing with you
as a lack
a disappointment that you aren’t getting something
from another person
that you’d really like to get
and are disappointed
or hurt

but if you’ve listened
now you know
what you would like others
to do to you

so
go
and do likewise

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

