Eagle’s flight – the gathering – worry – 11/22/13

why is it so easy to write poems about worry?

fear
anxiety
doubt
become
a gnawing concern
a desire to control
what I have no control
or authority
over

become
an expectation
that this worry
isn’t going to go
my way
and it should

and I’ve learned
to lay
these things
down at the foot of the cross

and I’ve learned to ask
what God wants to do
with them

and I’ve learned that
I don’t live by my expectations
but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God

and some of these burdens
given back to me
become questions
provoking further searching out
to understand the next
bit
of the mind of God

some
become trash
laid aside
forgotten
left behind

and others linger
and may return
hard to put down
they seem to keep coming back
and I learn patience
with myself
and to better see myself
as God sees me
in the walking with
and through
the burdening issue
learning to rest
in the power of the Spirit
and to wash
with living water
to come clean
again
and
again

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eagle’s flight – the gathering – worry – 11/22/13

  1. thanks for the like. interesting site on OCD that you have.
    I find writing to be a great way to open doors and walk through them. Keep at it.

  2. Darcey says:

    You have gathered the right words here Clark. I was such a worryer, my life filled with fear and anxiety…I would give it to God, take it back, and so on. When my daughter passed suddenly, my walk through grief brought me to a place with little room for worry. In fact sometimes I am concerned…”Well, shouldn’t you be worrying about that Darcey.” No, it’s just not there. I thought perhaps it’s age, but it’s a renewed strength. Somehow, God blessed me with a peace and understanding. Well, I just can’t explain, but I released and trust Him with it…all of it. Thank you Clark!!

  3. clarksapoet says:

    yes! quite cool, this being freed from worry. Thanks for extending the poem with your comment! I appreciate such “small conversations”.

    These days, I’m connecting such things with Jeremiah 31:31 … which is becoming something of a focus for me these days. Getting to know God like we know our friends, family, spouses, by walking with them through all manner of experiences, and are changed by them is my fond hope and desire for as many as can hear.

Leave a Reply

