Eagle’s Flight – rafting – Bonhoeffer – 10/4/13

I’m commuting 2 hours twice a week into the San Francisco financial district by CalTrain and Bart for work these days, and working from home 3 days. I’ve tried to work on the train but that seems to make me tired and its harder to work once I arrive, so I’ve found that reading interesting books is more relaxing and stimulating. My current interesting book is Eric Metaxas’ biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer.

as I read Bonhoeffer’s biography*
I see so many parallels with my own journey
including interesting notes
on those who couldn’t
or wouldn’t
hear him
even in the dire straits
of the rise of Hitler’s Nazi Germany

to see how much we
(indentifying in some ways with the German state church)
are capable of twisting
our (supposedly) firmly held beliefs
to accommodate
someone
or something
so out of our sphere
that we find no hooks
or handles to manage it or them
as we have learned to manage
whatever current administration
we are laboring under

wow
shifting paradigms
is nearly impossible
in the midst of a crisis
that exposes
that manipulates
our weakness
towards its own
unimaginable (to us, here and now)
ends

to have the manipulator
crush us in our own world view
then for us to let go of our (badly broken) view
and replace it
is very difficult
and I wonder if it ever
happens?

must we always wait another generation?

[Eric Metaxas. “Bonhoeffer – pastor, martyr, prophet, spy”]

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in rafting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

