Eagle’s Flight – rafting – just like us – 9/17/13

Looking at my own callings, and the clumsy way I grow up into Love. I get discouraged, but find a friend in Simon the fisherman, whom Jesus named Peter. I find, I too learn to see with God’s eyes in fits and starts, but all too often see through my own preconceptions or through the eyes of others who would like to believe the Universe operates as they have made it.
(see especially the story in Matthew 16, Luke 22, and John 21)

Peter
(aka Simon)
had his name changed
when he realized
for a moment
just who this Jesus was
and how he fit
into his people’s history
and spoke truth
probably more clearly
than he realized
and was rewarded
with praise and prophecy
promises to look forward to

and Peter
(like the rest of us)
took another breath
at hearing Jesus’
telling of the trials to come
and spoke rebuke
saying it should never be so

“get behind me Satan”
was the reply
“you think like men, not God”

and so
we and Peter
get glimmers
glimpses of the true
strung as beads
on a necklace
of more common thread

9/16/13

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in rafting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

