Eagle’s Flight – the gathering – Abraham – 8/19/13

So what does the walk of faith look like?
What hope do we walk towards in our life?
What hope does God provide?
How is that hope kept alive as we walk?
And what relationship are we hoping to have when we get there?
And what relationship do we have while we walk?

How is my hope kept alive? … on fire?

Abraham

I frame in words
the hope
the dreams
the promises
I’ve been given

and catch glimpses
in connecting
with

others

on the road
of the life
buried within us

and God words catch
at my spirit
and gently demand
a walking out
a walking into
an experience of the truth
buried there
these glimpses are not complete
the answers do not reveal all
my destination is not a place
but a connected relationship
with God
with others captured by this road
with the bride of Christ
a relationship built
in conversation

in walking
in working, playing, eating, sleeping
in seeing how love plays out
in and around all we are
and all we are doing

Our hope is in salvation in Christ
in the resurrection from the dead
yet these are merely doors

and I would catch glimpses
now
through these doors
of this life eternal
which is both future, past and always

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

