endings and beginnings – rhythm – 6/14/13

Life is motion. There are lots of moving parts that make life what it is. Sometimes it feels like there are too many things going on all at once and other times there are too few. Finding a new rhythm when something changes is important.
 
things
tasks
poems
speaking
walking, running, flying, waiting
people
more
different
people
all wanting different things
new things
old things
the same, the same, the same things
 
life
comes at me
sometimes I can catch
and return the balls tossed my way
and sometimes they hit me
and fall to the ground
or fly over my head
unnoticed
or ignored
 
I’m learning
the rhythms
needed to walk well
in the things I’m called to
there is a rhythm
between work, rest, recovery
starting something new
and ending something
who’s ending time has come
perhaps some time ago
 
it’s a dance
a great dance
and I’m starting to see
its primarily about my relationships
with my partner(s)
with Love
my God
the most important partner of all
the partner who is everywhere at once
and yet doesn’t appear to move*

 —
* see Charles Williams, “The Greater Trumps”

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

