endings and beginnings – hazy beginning – 6/8/13

In my off work hours, I’ve been asking various people who might know, what God’s doing with the Millennial’s. I have daughters and their friends, (and even a few of my own) that I can ask such questions of and they think I’m serious. So I was quite impressed with the simply authentic tone of this convocation address: “The Authority of Apology” by  Nadia Bolz Weber (a sarcastic Lutheran).  It struck a chord in me and I was willing to drop everything and play with it for a few hours. May the play continue.

I was given an article
by my daughter
who thought I might like it
which derailed my working at home day
for a couple hours

which I’ve taken to be ok
these days
as a way of giving myself permission
to follow my dreams
my passions

When this happens
I’m on God time
daring to believe
God will provide for us
as I’ve been promised

This work break
seemed to point towards
a road I’d love to be walking
but I’m still afraid of

the swells are building
large
but how this journey works
and fits into
my life
is unclear

I am completely busy
yet in search of a restructuring
as I age and slow down
my kids leave the nest
for ones of their own
as my work has moved further away
and 4 hours of commute
twice a week
adds 2 extra days to my work week

a change is coming
may I have the grace
to step into it

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/nadiabolzweber/2013/06/the-authority-of-apology-my-honors-convocation-address-at-iliff-school-of-theology-2/

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in faith hope and love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

