endings and beginnings – on faith – 5/23/13

faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.
faith says, count it a joy when you experience trials, for that produces patience
sometimes faith is a “just trust me” from friend or foe, king or lord
and I wonder how my experience of faith fits in with all the things I’ve been told.

on faith

if I focus too much on it
and try to understand it with the wrong tools
it disappears

if I walk on or in it
trusting that the next step
will be  …
will find solid footing
like the last one did
I get through
I’m able to work and walk and love
and hate, and sin, and be forgiven
I grow to see and understand the new and deeper ways I’m loved
and faith forms solid ground that somehow supports me
as I walk

I’ve leaned to trust that it does this
and my understanding
comes in pieces
usually much later

the emotional weather on this road
is at times joyously happy
sometimes painfully wounded
angry or fearful
or in a desperate despair

sometimes it’s a walk in the park
sometimes its needing courage to take one more step
and then one more
again
and then again
and again
and …

this faith grow or shrinks
not so much on my understanding
but on walking on out
in its exercise
faith grows

so who or what do you put your faith in?
what allows you to take another step
when the road seems to have ended
in fear
or doubt, or pain, or joy, or …

and where is your faith taking you?
and where or what does your faith back away from?

my faith gets hung up
when I can’t seem to find a way forward
all my energy for the task at hand
goes away
into a discouraged doubt
and I don’t want to play the current game
anymore

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to endings and beginnings – on faith – 5/23/13

  1. russtowne says:

    Beautiful, Clark.
    Russ

Leave a Reply

