endings and beginnings – a wedding – 5/9/13

The wedding of my daughter, went off well, the right event at the right time. We forgot the requisite number of important things to keep it real, but the people interactions were the most important. And now I’ve mostly recovered and am back working at my usual list of occupations (and preoccupations J ) but the new completeness of these two joined is companion to a new emptiness as she now calls home a place removed from us.
 
talk about endings and beginnings
the last event in the Christian Scriptures
is a wedding
 
my daughter is married
and away on her honeymoon
and I’m recovering
from the flurry of directed activity
leading up to the event
 
gifts
tasks
people
parties
decisions
 
piled up
were dealt with
or forgotten
and the wedding went off
delightful
for most who enjoyed
being together
lifting up the bride and groom
and celebrating
with such interesting groups of people
mingling and talking
joining together
alongside
these two
who are now
husband and wife

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

