endings and beginnings – and then? – 4/24/13

Perhaps its this post-Easter time, when the disciple Peter went back to fishing, because the hopes and dreams he’d had while walking, talking, healing, meeting all manner of people in all manner of situations with his Master, Jesus,  had been dashed when Jesus died. It had looked like something big was brewing. Now, in his strong man grief, he was lost and didn’t know what to do, so he went fishing. Back to the old ways. But Jesus came and found him, and gave him a future. An unexpected turn into a new life.  And so, I too wait.

actively waiting
knee deep
in God’s River of LIfe

for what
I don’t know

yet

I take comfort
in knowing that it took me 2 years
to fly in prayer
the plane God had built for me

I get discouraged that it took 2 years
to finally take those deeper steps
in prayer

So
here I am
again
with a calling
named
glimpsed
trained up
(to some degree)
and I stand on its shore
waiting
waiting

actively waiting

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to endings and beginnings – and then? – 4/24/13

  1. Darcey says:

    Excellent. You have such a way with words. I understand ‘actively waiting .. knee deep in the River of Life.’ Thank you for sharing.

  2. clarksapoet says:

    Thanks for your contributions, turning what could be a solitary activity into a number of good conversations.

Leave a Reply

