endings and beginnings – fitting in

Seems like I’m trying to talk myself into seeing God’s “new every morning” thing as a good idea. I can do it for a while, but then I get slightly off track somehow and I get worn out, rather than revitalized by the marvelous newness each day. Seems I can only take new things for so long and then I need to fall back into old comfortable ways for a while and take a break.

it seems after a good
and inspired beginning
there comes a time
when those around you
want you to fit into their scheme of things
and they will encourage you with
advice
promise of funding
warnings of wrong paths
and very few will attempt
to love you
into the vision you are
slowly birthing

they want you to grow up
to be just like them
to make their world
make sense
to be voted for
by one more person
on their side

but God
is new every morning
and some of those new things
are bound to upset
someone you know
who was particularly attached
to the particular bit of old
singled out
for retirement

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

