endings and beginnings – the race – 4/4/13

Ah, competition. Some love it and some avoid it. I seem to need it and since I’ve spent much of my competitive career losing (ah, but with a number of significant wins as well), I need to find another way to win more frequently. For me that’s helping the teams and the people I’m engaged with, to become the best we can. And in rowing, that means, moving together with rhythm. It’s a bit of a dance, at full power.

and then
there’s the race

all this prep
with a team
improving by leaps and bounds recently
with the new and the old
finally learning
to row well
together

it always surprises me
that it takes
several years
(like 4 or 5)
to get fully competitive

but now we have
moments
many more
strung together
in practice
where the boat feels
like it should

and now the race
the reality check
when wishful thinking
becomes harder to sustain

we have moments
we’ll need trust
and the belief
the faith
that together
we can actually sustain
those moments
for 6 1/2 minutes

and then
the sprint

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

