endings and beginnings – the practice of little deaths – 3/14/13

I’m almost done reading (and marking up) Brueggemann’s, “The Prophetic Imagination”, and I’ve become even more convinced that God’s cycle of life of growth, death, and new life is repeated throughout our lives. And as I practice my little deaths, I find that death is not so much a covering over and forgetting, as it is an acceptance and closure and a re-opening to new life.

we collect
(forever)
things
we let define who we are

clothes
tools
games
favorite sins
jobs
friends
family
enemies
likes
dislikes

and security seems to be
in piling these mountains of familiar
around ourselves
creating a world
of our own making

yet letting go
of some of these little things
when we are done with them
is a practice that brings in fresh air
new seasons
new life
new loves

each letting go
is a little death
allowing new life in
beyond our current
self

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings, Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

