endings and beginnings – 1/31/13

I seem to have come to the end of my poems on “the way”.
And that makes room for a new chapter, called “endings and beginnings”. I’ve been reading Walter Brueggemann’s “The Prophetic Imagination” which I’ve enjoyed quite a bit.  As I told him in a thank you email,

“In it you keep explaining to me why I write the poems I write. You are putting words and theological connection around why I do what I do, and a bit more about the context these poems are written and read in.  I’ve enjoyed the connecting with Moses criticizing and energizing, with the “royal consciousness” of Pharaoh (which I have seen up close and personal working in the corporate tech world). And with the connections with the avoidance of death and having the status quo go on “forever”.

The avoiding death has particularly struck home and in fact has caused me to start a new “chapter” of poems on “endings and beginnings”. I’ve been writing a poem a week for a while, and now seemed to have finished my previous chapter called “the way”. So thanks for the brain push to go deeper in to some of these things. ”

endings and beginnings
have been the best learning times
when I let go of what I know
and have grown comfortable with
and reach for something
I newly see

that newly see
doesn’t yet know
what it doesn’t know
with a catalog description
that leaves out the difficulties
and leaves out the real glories
and reasons to love

I jump
or am thrown
or wander unknowing
into this new unknown

putting to death
little things about where I’ve been
letting go of what has been
so I may travel on to
what will be

I have been practicing these little deaths
so when the large ones present
I am prepared
for major changes
I will come to love
in their own time

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in endings and beginnings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

