the way – I forget – 1/17/13

nothing can separate us
from God’s deep love for us
except ourselves

it turns out
I forget
and need frequent reminders
to go back
and spend some time
just being loved by God.

At one time, in prayer,
it felt like I had a hole in my heart
and the love that people gave me
would drain out quickly
And I needed constant
reassurance that I was loved

Now, that hole has been healed
but I wander off
and need post-it reminders
wherever I go

it seems strange
but I get walking
looking inward
thinking
Oh, OK, NOW I get it
I can do this
I’m on track now.

and I forget
that I got here immersed in God’s love
and  that I will leave
in God’s love
when the time is right

but I forget
and take several steps
alone
because I can do it
I can do it by myself
and it seems like I’ve forgotten …
something

what is it?

I forget.

… and then I stop, open my heart with my Golgotha key, the cross I’m given to carry,  my light burden and breathe, just breathe in the living water buried deep below the rock, and let it wash through and clean out my heart, through all its hidden corners, and then rest in the mansion that is being prepared for me, that seems to keep growing the more I explore, and I remember. Indeed, I am loved.

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

