Eagle’s Flight – the way – Joy – 12/24/12 – Christmas Edition

Christmas is upon us. A time of celebratory reflection, for being with family and friends, or alone as your significant others may be occupied elsewhere.  In the midst of the day to day, I wonder what was so joyful at that first Christmas for the few that witnessed the event, and then for the many who had no idea, including some that should have been watching. As I watch this Christmas for signs of God’s working in the world, I catch glimpses, for which I am grateful, and I grow tired even with good times and wonder if I’ll ever make a big enough impact to satisfy me once and for all. So this is my search for Joy this Christmas.  May you all be blessed with glimpses of God’s Great Joy in this season.

Merry Christmas

Clark –

joy

News of a great joy
a child
born to a close one
a friend
a daughter
a son

with all the promise of life ahead
of what could be
of what we dare let ourselves imagine
is indeed great joy

so when God looked
on those He loved / loves
and gave a son
with all life’s promise

and seeing through to our brokenness
gave a promise  with this son
beyond our asking
beyond our daring

a promise of a way out
a way past our broken nature
a way into the deep love
of the Father

indeed
these are

tidings

of

great

JOY

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

