a still small voice – 12/20/12

I find that God-words catch at My heart. They stick with me. Some come from reading scripture, or some random book or article where I find someone saying something I’ve been trying to find words for. Some are spoken by a friend and some by an enemy. Some are easy to hear while others make me angry and wound me.  But I’ve learned to hold them until my experience and understanding catch up to what my heart has caught as true. Such listening / hearing  is an ongoing growing experience, well worth the effort. And to speak such God-words to another is a wonderful grace empowered privilege.

I am
one still small voice
of God

John, the forerunner was noisy
full of fire
brimstone
dire warnings
to get our attention

and when Elijah
was hiding in a cave
a mighty wind and storm
came
with thunder and lightning
but the voice of God
was not in it
but came after
still and small
quiet
not so easily heard
rather awaited
sought after

the power of God
comes with wind and flame
boldly
but the voice of God is often
quiet
gentle
meek

the truth of God
behind the power
and majesty
is buried in love
in a relationship
that must be entered
and when close to God’s heart
God’s voice
may be heard

I Kings 19:11ff
12/19/12

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

