joseph grace – 12/14/12

Ah Christmas, that over extended holiday season where we try our best to get too much of a good thing, over and over.  A bit anxious about work, I’m forced to stop and enjoy time with family and friends. Good times, yet sometimes it is hard to get past the logistics of the season to really connect with the joys of new life in old and new friends, family, and extraordinary events.

the road signs
all point
and say
you are on track
your destination is just ahead

but
things keep happening
to knock you down
to block your way forward

when somehow you think
since you’re doing the right things
you should be rewarded
now
with position
and power

but 
no one is listening
(or so it seems)

yet even here
when arriving
isn’t happening as quickly as I would like
someone listens
and hears
and walks away
somehow deeply edified

I rejoice
give thanks
and try to release the joy
before it becomes
my entitlement

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

