the acorn – 11/21/12

reading through this book, “The Soul’s Code”[1], I’m finding that I connected with many of Hillman’s thoughts. They snagged on some of the ways I’ve walked in my searching / following after God. I find the truths uncovered and named by Hillman’s acorn, shine interesting lights on this “way” I’m getting to know and appreciate. I find it helpful to compare notes with others walking similar ways. These are my notes.

Hillman speaks
of the acorn
the germinal seed
of our
deepest
truest
self

and how
discovered and lived
discovering and living
exploring
in uncertain testing
towards growth

our true self
the self God sees
and loves us into
is put on
grown down into
and we become
more fully
ourselves

11/21/12

[1] James Hillman, “The Soul’s Code – in search of character and calling”

keywords: acorn, love, the way, germinal, true self, exploring, growing down, what God sees, becoming ourselves

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

