a ray of truth – 11/15/12

I was taught by my family to win and to lose well. I was taught by my “almost good enough” athletic abilities especially how to lose well, with occasional lessons in winning.

I’ve also had a passion for “finding out stuff” with particular excitement in going after things that were beyond my understanding. Places where I didn’t know, or found out I have known badly (i.e. places where I’m wrong … it does happen :-).  In this recent election season I have gotten very tired of the “I’m bigger than you” reasons for voting one way or the other. I was getting pretty depressed at the lack of truth telling, and the inability to get out from under the avalanche of misinformation we were being buried in.

But I hit a bright spot, 2 actually, that remind me who I am.

a lecture [1]
on the dark universe
and how the use of galaxies
and computer simulations
probe the mysteries
of dark energy and matter

struck home

a lecture [2]
on the biblical prophets
use of poetry
to speak to
and undermine the prevailing ideologies

struck home

I was greatly refreshed
to hear from these explorers
of mysteries beyond most of us

to hear explained most clearly
in ways I could follow
in ways that I resonated with

I heard, speaking in each case
a love for seeking out what is true
beyond what we
currently know
and practice

rays of truth
cut through
the increasing loud shouting
of opinions held
belief transmuted to truth
so I can be right
and you can be wrong

and somehow we’ve lost all love and respect
for truth
and somehow we’ve lost all love and respect
for one another
— — —
[1] Risa Wechsler, Assistant Professor of Physics and of Particle Physics and Astrophysics, on “Probing the Physics of the Dark Universe with Galaxies” – at Stanford

[2] Walter Brueggeman, William Marcellus McPheelers Professor of Old Testament Emeritus at Columbia Theological Seminary, Friday / Saturday Lectures “Realism amid Ideology”, “Grief amid Denial”, “Hope amid Despair” – at Stone Church of Willow Glen

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

