the way – impact – 10/6/12

Since I was young, I learned to be careful with what I said and to whom I said it.
When I went too far, got too excited and told someone more than they could deal with, something that was too far outside their current world view, I would cause the conversation to grind to an awkward halt. The few who delighted in things I delighted in I found refreshing and quite wonderful to talk to.
But now, I’m better at finding my audience and modes of story telling, and a current
growing edge for me is to do more truth telling than I’m used to whether I think people will hear it well or not. The work wilderness is pulling me this way. And at times it works and something changes because I spoke up.

on truth telling
on loving the truth
behind
and beneath
all things

loving it past
the comfortable
expected answers
for which we are rewarded
with approval
with money
with celebration
from those
who stop short
at the expected
and ignore
the deeper issues
that are just a little too hard
to wrap our hands around

we plunge
deeper into our own fantasies
with crowd approval
behind and before
all wanting to be on a winning team
even as it destroys us
slowly
the results aren’t due to be obvious
to me
for 50 years
ok, perhaps 25
well, it was too bad
what happened to Jim’s son
but accidents happen ya’know
there are bugs in software
shit happens

and so
we are excused
no worries
class is over for today

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

