forward – 9/20/12

A number of years ago, my work group asked a manager how to create a schedule that would be accurate as we moved forward. At that time, we were told that we needed to be committed to our schedule. A useless magic answer to a practical question. We decided then and there to figure it out, because clearly those above us didn’t know either.

trusting
that
doing the right thing
what I need to do
to be set up for the way forward
will work

while people in charge
ask for faster
without much clue
for how faster is achieved

this isn’t comfortable
being told repeatedly
that I’m not fast enough
while building
scaffolding neglected
but needed
(by me, if no one else)

but it begins to work
and my progress
forward
is slow
but can be built upon

About Clark W Johnson

I am a poet, interested in using poetry to explore my interactions with the spiritual. I find poetry captures tension, paradox and flow well enough so I can hold experiences at arms length and reflect on them from multiple vantage points. As I walk deeper with my God, I'm finding such a record invaluable for myself, and I find that pieces and parts touch others as well. I love and long for more points of contact along those lines.
This entry was posted in the way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

